“An object in a state of uniform motion will remain in said state of uniform motion unless an external force is applied” Lacasse explained as we reviewed physics for the following week. “Got that everyone? Does that make sense?”

Did it? Yes. But the words resonated with me on so many more levels than exercise science.

  1. Example number one: my morning cup of tea is sitting next to me on my desk, as I begin to write this blog. The force of gravity pulling down on my cup of tea is balanced by the force of my kitchen table pushing back up. Now, if I am to move my tea, I must apply an external force to disrupt this balance. Simple enough.
  2. Example number two: I am spending my morning spare trying to apply to Universities on OUAC. The force of social custom pulling me down under the safety blanket of an education, is balanced by the force of my innate curiosity for the unknown. In order to decide, I must apply an external force to disrupt the balance.

The bell rung for second period; I closed my macbook, walked out of the library and threw my OUAC number in the trash.

Never forget a sentence that changed your life. A year later, I am two weeks away from 3 months, 24 languages, 17 countries, 7 plane flights, 16 busses, 3 trains, 2 backpacks, no education and an innate curiosity for the unknown.

Who knows what will happen?

2 thoughts on “

  1. I think your ability to apply a mathematical principle to a personal philosophy demonstrates that you have received an excellent education and proves that not all education can be found in the classroom. I am so excited for you but will miss you so much. How about a postcard from every country – real ones with stamps that arrive in the mailbox? Pick ones you like and I will make something very creative for you that you can keep forever as a memory of your trip?

    Like

Leave a comment